Skip to content

January Recap

January 31, 2013

It’s nearly the end of January and time for my month 1 recap! 

Goal 1: Excercise more
I set a weekly plan for myself: Long Run Sunday; Spinning Monday; Toning Tuesday; Yoga Wednesday; Toning Thursday; Spinning Friday; Off Saturday.  I was surprised that I stuck to it!  I realized that I love mornings with Ryan and Dan and a cup of coffee, so on Mondays (when I have to leave the house at 5:30 to get to Spinning) I reminded myself that on Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday, I could cozy up with my coffee and ease into my day.  I also fall prey to the after-work excuses: too much work, a meeting, cleaning up, etc…so I now bolt for the door asap on those days to get home and work out before getting Ryan.  After 4 weeks of this routine, I’m getting stronger (I actually just started using heavier weights because – for the first time ever – I discovered the lighter ones were too easy and I was bored) and I’m running farther (4.3 miles!) and faster than I have in literally 15 years.  I’ve found that it keeps my crazy at bay…so maybe other people need me to work out, too.  I’m sure my students appreciate a less nutty Mrs. P.

About halfway through the month I also made a conscious decision to not weigh myself anymore.  Weighing myself does not do anything good for me: if I’ve gained weight, I berate myself and eat my emotions; if I’ve lost weight, I use it as an excuse to eat like crap.  My clothes don’t yet feel like they fit better, but considering I could keep Land O’Lakes in business before in my attempts to pull on my pants, I have a bit to go before noticing a difference there.  Instead I’m just focusing on tracking what I eat and working out regularly, and I guess everything will fall into place after that.

2. Eat healthier & Aim for vegetarian
This also went really well!  Since we already plan meals and have been eating clean for several years, we really just wanted to limit how much meat we were eating.  We started eating fish twice a week and vegetarian meals three times a week, which means our meat consumption is down to chicken one night and beef another night – and I’m starting to find that if I think too much while eating said meat, I want to throw it up.  We’ve found some alternatives to meat (hello, TVP! Where have you been all my life?) and have been trying to eat lentils and beans more often.  My girl Sue added me to a vegetarian group on Facebook, which I am grateful for – it’s all new territory to me, so I want to learn as much as I can!  So another win here!

3. Do more yoga
Well, this went well for two weeks.  Then I didn’t do it last week, and I was supposed to do it today.  Oops.  It is definitely my worst workout habit – I constantly feel the need to stretch out but yoga is the first thing to go on a busy (or, let’s face it, lazy) day.  Must. Do.  Better.  I just hate it so much!

4. Sleep more.
Ha.  Ha ha.  Hahahahahahaaaaaa.  Who am I kidding?  I feel like I’m the only person in the world whose kid does not require 10-12 hours of sleep.  Instead, mine is up between 4:30 & 5 like clockwork and often at least once a night.  I haven’t slept well since 6 months before he was born.  But I am getting off the computer by 8:15 and into bed by 8:45 and that IS making a bit of a difference, though not much.  My body craves 9 hours of sleep – no more, no less – and Ryan’s up before the birds crap does not coexist with that need.  So I’m still constantly sleep-deprived.  A friend of mine posted a fact that it should take 10-15 minutes to fall asleep at night; if you fall asleep faster than that, it means you’re sleep deprived.  Most nights I don’t even remember pulling up the covers before I’m waking up for the day again.  I think I have my answer.

So that’s it – I’m working out more, eating better, skipping my yoga and sleeping more but still sleep deprived.  It was a successful first month, to be honest.  Now, I have to continue my momentum (Goal: must look better in 2nd birthday pictures than I did in 1st birthday pictures) and work on February’s focus: Dan (you know, that whole Valentine’s Day thing sort of lent itself to this).

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

